Nobel Prize Winners 2013


The Nobel prize is a prize which is given to people  who have provided outstanding contributions in the area of Physics, Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physiology or Medicine and Economic Sciences.  First Noble prize was given in 1901. Alfred Nobel a chemist, innovator and engineer established these awards in 1885 by donating $186 million in his will.

Nobel Prize Winners 2013: 


                         The Nobel prize for Physics is shared by two people this time.Peter Higgs of Britain and Francois Englert of Belgium has won Nobel prize in Physics for a theory about how subatomic particles get their mass . This theory was confirmed with the discovery of Higgs or God 0r Boson (named after Indian Scientist Satyendra Nath Bose who given the theory of Boson Particle and whose name was not even mentioned in Noble Prize Ceremony 2013)Particle at CERN.



This Nobel Prize is given to Martin Karplus of the University of Strasbourg, France, and Harvard University, Michael Levitt of the Stanford University School of Medicine, and Arieh Warshel of the University of Southern California in Los Angeles for making a computer model to that can predict chemical reactions.



The Nobel Prize for literature is awarded to 82 year old Alice Munro of Canada. She’s an author of many successful stories like “Runaway”,”The Progress of Love” and “The Moons of Jupiter”.


Physiology or Medicine:

This Nobel Prize is shared by  James E. Rothman of Yale (USA), Randy W. Schekman of the University of California (USA) and German-American Dr. Thomas C. Sudhof of the Stanford University School of Medicine for discovering that how key substances moves  within a cell and how disturbance in this movement can cause diseases like diabetes or immunological disorder.



The nobel prize for peace is given to The Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons for their efforts and work to free our world from chemical weapons.



Economic Sciences:

The 2013 Prize in Economic Sciences has been awarded to Eugene Fama and Lars Peter Hansen from the University of Chicago and Robert J Shiller from Yale University.

[poll id=’8′]

You Might Also Like

  • Prashant Sharma

    add poll !!